We took just a quick stroll across the plaza to
obtain a similar angle to
the original photo for the San Felipe de Neri
Church.

Obtaining this photo without lots of signs, people
and traffic was
difficult.  This photo was the one that contained
the least amount of
obstructions.

      
It was 1709 when the original church built on
this site.  During
 the very rainy summer of 1792, the old church
collapsed. The
 church that now stands on the Old Town Plaza
was
 constructed the following year. This church, in
the shape of a
 cross, was constructed of adobe; the walls are 5
feet thick. A
 one-story convento for the Friars was added on
the east side
 and the westernmost room of the structure was
a sacristy

      Except for its tin ceiling, brick floor, and south
entrance,
 today's church is the same structure as in 1793.
In 1995-96,
 the roof of the rectory was restored to the
original look given
 by the Jesuits in 1890. The new pitched tin roof
has a
 decorative gable above the front door and a
"widow's
 walk.".